The TWAS Council, elected by members every four years, is responsible for supervising all Academy affairs.

The TWAS 28th General Meeting (held in Trieste, Italy, on 27 November 2018) nominated the Council that took office in January 2019, and will serve until the end of 2022:

Mohamed H.A. Hassan (Sudan)

Immediate Past President
Bai Chunli (China)

Africa: Moctar Toure (Senegal)
Arab Region: Sabah AlMomin (Kuwait) - taking office 1 January 2021
Central and South Asia: Dorairajan Balasubramanian (India) 
East and Southeast Asia: Khatijah M. Yusoff  (Malaysia)
Latin America and Caribbean: Manuel Limonta-Vidal (Cuba)

Secretary General
Luiz Davidovich (Brazil)

Yang Wei (China)

Council Members
Africa: Roseanne Diab (South Africa) 
Arab Region: Abdel Nasser Tawfik (Egypt)
Central and South Asia: Mohammad Shamsher Ali (Bangladesh) 
East and Southeast Asia: Bishal Nath Upreti (Nepal)
Latin America and Caribbean:

Ex-officio Council Member
Atish Dabholkar (India) [Director, ICTP]

This website does not use profiling cookies, but only first and third party technical cookies, including cookies from social media plugins.
To learn more about our cookie policy or to change your cookie settings, click here.
By using this website and clicking “accept”, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.